Back to Home

Detour

The Blade Lineage and the Kurokumo Clan have fought for years over territorial disputes. Usually, the sight of each other is a one-way ticket to a harsh duel.
In this case, it's different. In the young night, a Salsu makes a detour on the way home after barely escaping a battle. Always prepared despite being battered, he carries his sword and holds onto it with great care.
Basilio Kurokumo Wakashu
Hello again, my friend!
Trouble already brews when Sinclair hears that familiar voice from behind him. Sinclair closes his eyes for a moment and sighs.
There was one duty he had promised his mentor he would fulfill, and until now he hasn't completed it.
On the other hand, it meant having to deal with Basilio almost every night.
Basilio Kurokumo Wakashu
You're not looking too hot over there. Bumped into some buddies of mine, did you?
Sinclair opens his eyes and turns around to greet the other. He looks rather unsightly, and hated to admit such.
Emil Sinclair Blade Lineage Salsu
...I'm not your friend, Basilio.
Basilio Kurokumo Wakashu
Aw, you are so mean to me! It's not like I'm going to end you here and now. I'm not in the mood, see?
One glance showed that he had his own blade sheathed. "How bold." Sinclair thinks to himself, but so as to show equality, he puts his sword aside too.
Emil Sinclair Blade Lineage Salsu
What do you want? I'm trying to go home.
Basilio Kurokumo Wakashu
You can't sleep looking like that! Sit down, my friend. I'll patch you up.
Emil Sinclair Blade Lineage Salsu
How...are you going to do that?
Basilio Kurokumo Wakashu
Don't ask such foolish questions.
Sinclair knew better than to question it. Reluctant, he finds a space and sits down. If he was being frank, he didn't even realize he was bleeding all over. Basilio somehow takes out some bandages out of his pocket - Likely some kind of technology Sinclair is too tired to point out. The Wakashu gets to work pretty quickly, though not without complaints.
Basilio Kurokumo Wakashu
Jusko...these cuts are pretty deep. Does it not hurt?
Emil Sinclair Blade Lineage Salsu
Of course, but I need them.
Basilio Kurokumo Wakashu
I really don't understand the whole Blade Lineage's deal with scars or whatever! Usually a skilled battler wouldn't have so many, no?
Sinclair noticably grimaces at that. Basilio sweats a bit, and quickly tries to retract his statement.
Basilio Kurokumo Wakashu
Buuut...who am I to judge when a Salsu's the one who saved me, after all?
Emil Sinclair Blade Lineage Salsu
I did not save you. I wanted to be the one to take your life.
Emil Sinclair Blade Lineage Salsu
Don't...Don't get confused...
When Sinclair says this, a blush starts to form on his face. There were surely other reasons, because he could just cut Basilio's head off if he just let himself go. Yet, it's this Wakashu who repays the sparing of his life through small favors, like buying a drink or tending to his wounds.
Basilio Kurokumo Wakashu
Of course not. If you and I are going to settle our little feud once and for all...
Basilio Kurokumo Wakashu
I ought to make sure that you're in the same good health as I am. So, why don't I bring you home for tonight?
Emil Sinclair Blade Lineage Salsu
.....
Emil Sinclair Blade Lineage Salsu
Fine, just make sure no one sees us.
Basilio Kurokumo Wakashu
I will!
Settling a fight where one has to kill the other...
Thinking about it as Basilio walks him home, Sinclair wonders if that day will really come, or if their ridiculous little rivalry will become something more.
He shudders at the idea of something bigger. "Not yet." He tells himself, as his scarred hand holds onto the other.